Mother’s Day Weekend Book Haul

As it so happens, I’m weak. Yes. There I said it, I have no self-control. As a twenty-three-year-old motherless daughter on Mother’s Day, it’s important to distract yourself. And oh boy, did I! I found an article on Facebook by ALovelyWoman and I took it upon myself to revise her list and mainly focus on #7. Instead of going to a bookstore to buy books that would help me understand my loss, I bought books in the genre of murder mystery and horror. But don’t be alarmed by my macabre taste in books for that particular weekend, do not fret, I also bought a single fairytale retelling. So that makes up for my peculiar choices, right? So here, I present you my Mother’s Day Weekend (even-though-technically-I-bought-these-all-in-one-day) Book Haul*!

For descriptions of the books, please click on the title of each book to be directed to Goodreads!

B&N_BLOG_BANNER

BH_BN_Grid

Left to Right:

Gwendy’s Button Box by Stephen King and Richard Chizmar. Let’s be real. This was a complete cover buy. Usually, when the cover art of a book catches my eye, I instantly add it to my basket. I like pretty things, sue me. Except for this time, I was slightly apprehensive. I tend to assume that all Stephen King books are going to be colossal books that are better served for weighing papers down than for actual reading. It turns out, just like men who think every woman should be a size 0, I was positively, inexplicably, dumb wrong. So when I noticed the $18 (USD) price tag on Barnes & Noble’s website I could justify the purchase, at least in my mind especially since it’s a hardback. You see, I’m a really persuasive person; especially when it comes to persuading myself. I could talk myself into buying some obscure brand of bottled water and have myself convinced that in some shape or form, I saved all the kids in Africa. Don’t ask me how; it’s a talent. But I digress, so when I realized this book was only 175 pages long and had that $18 price, I thought there was no way in Hades I was buying that book… well friends, here we are. I bought that book, do you know why? Because I convinced my Africa-saving mind that the $12 book I had returned would make up the difference on top of all the other books I bought. So, in reality, I got the best deal in the world; I bought a hardback book with a whopping 175 pages for $6. That’s my story and I’m sticking to it. 👌🏻

Wait Till Helen Comes by Mary Downing Hahn. This book was recommended to me by my friend Ally, she and I are both fans of horror. Update: I have read this book. To read my review click here.

The May Queen Murders by Sarah Jude. Once again, I’m weak. It was a cover buy. This book doesn’t have the best reviews on Goodreads, but I decided to give it a shot. I mean, just look at the cover! It belongs on Tumblr.

Confessions of a Murder Suspect by James Patterson and Maxine Paetro. So I have a weird fascination with James Patterson. I’ve only read one of his books, Invisible (read my review here), but a large part of me wants to prove I’m related to him. As it so happens, my last name is Patterson. I’m fully aware that Patterson is a very common name; there was even another Jacquelyn Patterson that attended my college (I believe she spelled her first name differently). It’s just a fantasy, but hey, wouldn’t it be cool if I started writing mystery novels? Maybe it runs in the family? Then my books would be shelved right next to his books! I could write a mystery titled, The Case of the Missing Cashmere Gloves? No, wait, how about… Ramona & Daphne: International Cheerleading Spies? Alright, fine. I’ll leave the writing to my possible distant relative. To read my review click here, be cautious of spoilers.

HPB_BLOG_BANNER

BH_HP_Grid

Left to right:

The Haunting of Sunshine Girl by Paige McKenzie. In all honesty, there wasn’t much thought behind the purchase of these books besides, “Oooh! This book sounds interesting; look it’s ONLY $5.” And then handing them to my Fiancé. However, I have been in the mood for mystery and horror books lately, so I decided to give these a try.

The Awakening of Sunshine Girl by  Paige McKenzie. Sequel to The Haunting of Sunshine Girl.

Just Ella by Margaret Peterson Haddix. This Cinderella retelling is clearly the odd one out, no it doesn’t have ghosts or murder…although in my opinion, that would be AWESOME!

Cursed by Jennifer L. Armentrout. I am a fan of Jennifer L. Armentrout and I tend to love the characters that she creates. I was shocked to see a JLA book that I hadn’t heard of, and according to Goodreads, with good reason. I’m a little apprehensive to read this, (due to the opinion of a friend on Goodreads) but I try to not let the opinions of others deter me from reading a book I’m interested in reading.

Thank you for reading my FIRST blog post! I’ve really enjoyed writing this and have received good feedback! I’m thinking about making a May Book Haul video on Youtube because of course, these are not the only books I’ve bought this month. But hey, I’d rather be addicted to buying books than buying crack! …Okay, bad analogy. But if you liked my post and want more from me, then please continue visiting, subscribe to my Youtube channel (here), and leave a comment! I hope you all have had a great week and I’ll write again soon! Bye! ✌🏻

* Haul: A collection of items bought, typically in one shopping trip

2 thoughts on “Mother’s Day Weekend Book Haul”

Leave a comment